Once, I climbed a hill

Alpine Hut at Sunset hl_1001 via Compfight

I once reached the top of a hill.

But the Sun had set on the neighbouring hill,

Before I had made my climb down the hill.

I’d have regretted climbing this hill,

Had it not been for the beautiful sunset.

For one last time, the Sun glowed its best colours;

For once transforming the green shadows to a golden mat,

Before leaving behind Darkness’s contours

But no regrets in my heart, lay

For the beauty of the setting sun lives on in my mind,

Brushing the curse of darkness away.

In the shortness of the last sunshine,

I saw immortality tucked in the collars of mortality.

 

23 Responses

  1. A-Astaneh at |

    Hi Rajyashori,

    Actually your look to climbing the hill is so nice and romantic because the nature has the most colorful paints and you have found it.
    be happy

    Reply
  2. jackiequiroz at |

    I really liked how your picture matches your poem! make sure to check out my blog! http://jackiequiroz.edublogs.org/2018/10/23/my-image-post/

    Reply
  3. lauragarberfhhs at |

    The picture is a wonderful compliment to your poem. I like how you describe the sunset as ā€œBrushing the curse of darkness away.ā€ Do you often see sunsets like the one in your picture?

    Iā€™m a teacher in the US and Iā€™m sure my students would love to hear from you if you want to visit our blogs: http://swcabloggers.edublogs.org

    Happy blogging!

    Reply
  4. Grace at |

    Hi Rajyashori, your poem is beautiful. My favourite part is the last line it really stuck with me. Did you base the poem off of true events or did you just come up with it on the spot? My blog is http://www.blog44.ca/gracel/ if you would like to visit it.
    Sincerely,
    Grace

    Reply
  5. brayamb24 at |

    Hello Rajyashori,
    I really enjoyed reading your poem!The illustration you utilized for it went really well with the poem. What inspired you to write it? I have A poem up on my blog as well and I think they can compare in some ways so check it out and tell me what you think. http://brayamb24.edublogs.org/2018/10/22/week-three-challenge-pictures/

    Reply
  6. olawumi at |

    Hi
    I love your poem. I must confess you are very good.

    Visit my blog at https//farhatme.edublogs.org/

    Reply
  7. Grace at |

    Hi Rajyashor, I donā€™t usually read short stories. I actually prefer longer novels with lots of twists and turns. I have a book shelf in my room that has four shelves and I still canā€™t fit all my books on it because theyā€™re all so big! I would send a picture of it but I donā€™t think you can on comments. One of my favourite books right now is the super villain and me, I know it sounds like a sappy love story but thereā€™s a lot of action in it too. Whatā€™s your favourite story? Maybe weā€™ve both read the same types of books.
    Sincerely,
    Grace

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar